History of Farmington Fire Department

August 14, 2019
6:00 PM
Rangeley Public Library
Call (207) 864-5529 for more information

Ruth Watson, daughter of late Farmington Fire Chief Robert McCleery, has compiled her father's notes to write a book on the history of fire fighting in Farmington, Maine. The book includes information about fires in the Rangeley area such as the burning of the Kempton Lumber Co. in 1939 and the Rangeley Baptist Church in 1941. It also includes the story of a 1971 fire in which Farmington, Rangeley, Phillips, Strong, Kingfield, and New Vineyard firefighters worked side-by-side to contain the fire that ravaged the center of downtown Phillips, destroying 10 businesses and 4 homes. Folks who are interested in area history are sure to find Watson's discussion of the book fascinating.